Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation Minutes: 2019 Annual Meeting Page 1

Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation Minutes 2019 Annual Meeting

The 2019 Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation Annual Meeting of Members was held on Thursday, October 17, at the cooperative's headquarters office in Gray. This was the cooperative's 80th Annual Meeting. Tri-County EMC Board Chair, Brenda P. Green, called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM.

Keith Brooks, Manager of Safety and Training, delivered a safety and emergency briefing.

Billy Jerles, Tri-County EMC Board Attorney, asked for a motion to close registration. The motion was made by Marion Nelson and seconded by Buck Comer. None were opposed. Registration closed at 2:03 PM.

Cecil Patterson delivered the invocation and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Greg Mullis, VP of Corporate Services, welcomed and recognized special guests: Greg Ziesenhene, Office of Sen. Perdue; Preston Miller, Office of Sen. Isakson; Slayten Carter, Office of Rep. Austin Scott; Keith Porterfield, GSOC; Ed Barbee, Mayor of Gray; Jordan Webb, OPC; Jason Bragg, Georgia EMC; Hank Raehn, Tri-County EMC Foundation Board

Kim Broun, Communications Specialist, discussed Tri-County EMC's Community Youth Programs.

- Washington Youth Tour Delegates: Becca Hildreth, Kate Embry and Calleigh Reber
- Operation Roundup Scholarship Recipients: Dylan Gattie, Kelsey Schell, Morgan Burgamy
- Cooperative Youth Leadership Conference Delegate: Jesse Kimsey
- Walter Harrison Scholarship Finalist: Kelsey Schell

Mullis reviewed recent Operation Roundup Grants, Bright Ideas Grants, Volunteerism programs and a newly introduced membership event – Taco Town Hall.

Green delivered the Chairman's Address:

• The cooperative is in excellent financial condition according to a recent audit from McNair, McLemore and Middlebrooks accounting firm.

Sammy Hall, Director:

- Hall reviewed the items that were included on the 2019 election ballot, including bylaw changes.
- Hall spoke briefly on board governance and transparency

Ray Grinberg, CEO, delivered the CEO address:

- Rates remain unchanged since 2014
- Tri-County EMC is preparing for Vogtle Units 3&4. This will increase costs.
- Tri-County continues to add low-cost power generation, including natural gas and solar, to the portfolio where possible
- A new power outage phone number was introduced, 1.833.myTCEMC
- The EMC encourages members to learn more about electric vehicles and will offer an EV Incentive in 2020
- Broadband Internet continues to be an important topic in the service area. Management and board are looking at feasibility studies to see if it works and what our role in providing service will be

BUSINESS SESSION: Conducted by Billy Jerles, Board Attorney

- Quorum was met through mail balloting with 1,601 total votes.
- A motion was made and seconded to approve the agenda. No discussion. None Opposed.
- The Proof of Mailing certificate noted that Annual Meeting packages were sent to members.
- A motion was made and seconded to waive the reading of the minutes. No discussion. None Opposed
- A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2018 Annual Meeting Minutes. None were opposed.
- There was no unfinished business from the prior meeting.

New Business:

- The 2019 Credentials and Election Committee was introduced, and their duties were described: Jerry Sheppard, Hank Raehn, Wayne Gatliff, John Brown, Danny Blair, Frank Moss, Diana Simmons, Wendy Vaughn, Norma Hancock
- The 2019 Nominating Committee was introduced, and their duties were described: Norma Hancock, Evelyn Simmons, Tracy Gattie, Ken Farr, Hank Raehn, Scott Deloach, James Findley, Hunter Bacon
- Jerles reviewed the minutes from the Nominating Committee meeting and announced the candidates for the 2019 ballot. Billy announced that the following directors were re-elected to serve another three-year term.

Position	Candidates	Elected
District 1, Post 2	Cecil Patterson	Cecil Patterson
District 2, Post 2	Mike Rainey	Mike Rainey
District 3, Post 2	Marion Nelson	Marion Nelson

• The results of the proposed bylaw amendments were announced:

Amendment	No Votes	Yes Votes	Pass or Fail
Amendment 1	273	1218	Pass
Amendment 2	184	1307	Pass
Amendment 3	222	1270	Pass
Amendment 4	276	1221	Pass

• Nominations from the floor were made for the 2020 Nominating Committee. The results were as follows:

District 1: Tracy Gattie, Evelyn Simmons, Thomas Comer;

District 2: Hank Raehn, Jerry Sheppard

District 3: Kevin Pope, Jack Brock, Hunter Bacon

- A motion was made and seconded to approve the nominations for the Nominating Committee. There was no discussion. None were opposed.
- The Business Session adjourned at 2:58 PM.

After that time, 11 ballots were drawn to receive cash prizes.

- The winner of a \$500 cash prize was Willie J. Reeves.
- The following winners each received \$50 cash prizes: Joseph McEver, R. Wayne Camp, Sarah Thomas, Debra Vinson, Earl Colvin, Sharon Reeves, Lelton Free, Lillas James and Pat A. Spence

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas Noles, Secretary/Treasurer