Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation Minutes 2021 Annual Meeting

The 2021 Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation Annual Meeting of Members was held on Thursday, October 21, virtually on Facebook Live and www.tri-countyemc.com/election.cms. This was the cooperative's 82nd Annual Meeting. The meeting was held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Tri-County EMC Board Attorney, Billy Jerles, called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM.

Cecil Patterson, Director, led the members in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance.

Brenda P. Green, Chairman, delivered the Chairman's Address:

- The cooperative is on sound financial footing
- In order to keep co-op financially strong, a rate increase was enacted on October 1, 2021. This was due to rising operating costs and changes in the power supply portfolio.
- Green gave background information on the broadband fiber internet decision.

Ray Grinberg, CEO, delivered the CEO address:

- Keeping employees & public safe, keeping the lights on, and finding ways to serve and better our community continue to be the core principles of Tri-County EMC.
- Grinberg reviewed the safety measures being taken during the COVID pandemic and highlighted that Tri-County is always available to serve members online and by phone, although lobbies are closed due to covid
- Increased Right-of-Way trimming efforts have led to decreased outage times
- Fiber communication is being installed throughout the electric system. This will enhance the co-op's communication and help reduce outage times by quickly identifying outages. This will also give the co-op more opportunities to backfeed power from other locations to eliminate outages. In addition, it allows for the formation of Tri-CoGo, the broadband internet subsidiary of the cooperative.
- Grinberg discussed the rate change and said that the cooperative is seeing the increase in the cost of doing business, as most industries have during the pandemic. In addition, the cost of power sources, including natural gas, are on the rise. Plant Vogtle, set to go live in 2022, will provide power for the next 80 years. With this reliable clean power comes additional cost.
- Grinberg touched on the Tri-CoGo internet project and noted that this is an effort not only to enhance the lives of our members but make our communities better.

Greg Mullis, COO of Tri-CoGo, gave an update on the fiber internet project:

- The Tri-CoGo Broadband Internet Project was announced on March 5. Construction began on May 17, and 105 days later the first customer was served.
- As of the meeting date, Zone 1 and Zone 2 in Jones County are live.
- 1700 locations have access to service in Jones County
- 160 miles of fiber built
- 160 active customers
- Over 4,000 pre-registrations across the system
- Construction of the project is set to be complete within 24 months

BUSINESS SESSION: Conducted by Billy Jerles, Board Attorney

- Quorum was met through mail balloting with 1,669 total votes
- The Proof of Mailing certificate noted that the Annual Meeting packages were sent to members.

Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation Minutes: 2021 Annual Meeting

Page 2

• Due to the virtual meeting in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, the approval of the 2019, 2020 and 2021 minutes will be deferred to the next Annual Meeting in 2022.

New Business:

- The 2020 Credentials and Election Committee was introduced, and their duties were described:
 Diana Simmons, Wendy Vaughn, Norma Hancock, Hank Raehn, Becky Sharp, Wayne Gatliff,
 Danny Blair, Frank Moss, Ronald Cowan
- The 2020 Nominating Committee was introduced, and their duties were described: Evelyn Simmons, Thomas Comer, Laura Hardwick, Ken Farr, Carol Ann Guthrie, Joe Swift, Jack Brock, Hunter Bacon, Kevin Pope
- Jerles reviewed the minutes from the Nominating Committee Meeting and announced the candidates for the 2021 ballot. Jerles announced that the following directors were re-elected to serve another three-year term:

Position	Candidates	Elected
District 1, Post 2	Chap Nelson	Chap Nelson
District 2, Post 2	George "Buck" Comer	George "Buck" Comer
District 3, Post 2	Tommy Noles	Tommy Noles

- There was no new business.
- The Business Session adjourned.

After that time, 11 ballots were drawn to receive cash prizes.

- The winner of a \$500 cash prize was Wade L. Eubanks.
- The following winners each received \$50 cash prizes: Nathaniel Harris, Velinda Barnes, Videtta Rhodes, Arthur Hill, Nell S. Goodwin, George Thistlewood, Anthony & Sharon Whipple, Christopher Curry, John F. Harrington, Jr., and Nancy Page.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas Noles
Secretary/Treasurer